How to Apply for the Wigan Warriors Scholarship 2024

Wigan Warriors Scholarship

Wigan Warriors Scholarship is pleased to announce the scholarship and academy squads for the 2023 season.

35 scholarship athletes have signed up for the 2023 season, representing 15 community clubs and 28 high schools. Twenty of the 35 players are under 16, while 15 are under 15.

12 players have signed academy contracts and moved on from scholarships. Wigan’s new Academy players signed contracts and were presented by Liam Farrell at the Fan Village before the first team’s match against the Catalan Dragons last month.

As part of Wigan’s 2023 Academy squad, Charlie Yeomans, Dylan Kelly-Duffy, George O’Loughlin, Jack Farrimond, Josh Cartwright, Kalum Rathbone, Kian McDermott, Lukas Mason, Nathan Lowe, Noah Hodkinson, Taylor Kerr, and Trent Kelly-Duffy will represent the Under-17 age group.

Billy Myers, Harry Smithers, Joe Baldwin, Maddox Jeffrey, Ryan Brown, Tom Ratchford, and Troy Richmond are all under-18s. Related American University in Cairo scholarships 2024

Wigan Warriors Scholarship: Wigan’s new Academy players.

Wigan Warriors Scholarship

The Warriors’ latest 35 scholarship recruits join the club following a thorough recruitment process in which Wigan’s dedicated scouting team spends time in the community watching players for their local clubs and schools.

Shane Eccles, Junior Player Development Manager, stated, “The schoolteachers and community coaches do an excellent job of providing regular playing opportunities for these players, allowing us to identify potential talent to join our pathway.”

School teachers and community coaches devote a significant amount of time to these young players, working with them frequently to help develop their talents, resulting in players receiving the opportunity to join the club. We are appreciative of the efforts of everyone involved in the community game and schools.

“We also run ETP sessions throughout the year, which provides an opportunity to work with the young players and help them develop their skills while getting to see their characteristics and if they show the attributes of a Wigan player.”

The Under-16s Scholarship Programme began with a Launch Evening on Wednesday, September 7th, when the players and their families were officially welcomed into the Club.

Members of the Scholarship coaching staff explained the club’s history and what it means to be a member of Wigan Warriors.

Warriors Head Coach Matt Peet made a surprise appearance, speaking with all of the players and presenting them with their Scholarship contracts.

The Scholarship players’ 2023 season will officially begin with their first session on Wednesday, September 14th.

“We are delighted to welcome these players into the Club and are looking forward to them starting training,” Eccles was quoted as saying.

“Each player was recruited because they exhibited traits of Wigan players, and this is a tribute to their parents, coaches, and school teachers for guiding them to this stage.

This is a terrific opportunity for these youngsters to join the club and take the first step towards the performance route.

The latest Academy signings have spent the last two years working in the Scholarship program, demonstrating the potential to go through the pathway to the next stage of Academy rugby.

The players have also demonstrated Wigan-like attributes and will now join the academy squad. These players will now schedule their training around their college courses in the hopes of making the Reserves squad, and eventually the first team roster.

“It is fantastic to be able to promote these individuals from our Scholarship program to the Academy squad, and we look forward to seeing how this group develops in the Academy next season.

After a terrific year at Scholarship, it’s intriguing to see how they handle Academy rugby. The players will now have a brief transition phase during which they will begin to increase the volume of training they are doing, preparing them for a full pre-season in preparation for what should be a successful 2023 season.”

The listings for each age group in the Scholarship squads and the new Academy players are shown here, along with the amateur clubs they played for and the high schools they attended/attended.

There are also photos of each scholarship player and the new Academy players who have signed contracts.

Wigan Warriors Scholarship


  • Bailey Jones (Shevington Sharks & Deanery High)
  • Conner Oxbury (Leigh Miners & Byrchall High)
  • Corben Ashurst (Normanton & Outwood Freeston)
  • Evan Buckley (Rochdale Mayfield & Hollingworth Academy)
  • George Marsden (Golborne & Golborne High)
  • George Wood (Shevington & Hawkley High)
  • Jacob Logan (Golborne & Golborne High)
  • James Gleeson Orrell St James & Shevington High)
  • James Parr (Orrell St James & St Edmund Arrowsmith)
  • Joe McGann (Blackbrook & Lymm High)
  • Josh Tyrer (Leigh Miners & St Mary’s High)
  • Leyton Hull (Leigh East & Lowton High
  • Noah Forster (Golborne & Golborne High)
  • Noah Wilde (Rochdale Mayfield & Whitworth High)
  • Shea O’Connor (Orrell St James & Shevington High)

Read more Apha Kaiser Permanente Community Health Scholarship 2024


  • Brody Allred (Leigh Miners Rangers & Bedford High School)
  • Cameron Bate (West Bank Bears & St Peter and Paul RC High)
  • Finlay Yeomans (Woolston Rovers & Lymm High)
  • Hamza Butt (Wigan St Patricks & Clitheroe Royal Grammar School)
  • Harlen Smith (Orrell St James & St Peter’s)
  • Haydn Bynoe (St Peter’s)
  • Jaiden Drachenberg (Wigan St Judes & St John Fisher)
  • Josh Swindley (West Bank Bears & St Peter and Paul RC High)
  • Koen Perry (Hindley & Standish High)
  • Leo Wadsworth (Orrell St James & St Peter’s)
  • Lewis Owens (West Bank Bears & Weaverham High School)
  • Lucas Hendry (West Bank Bears & Ormiston Bolingbroke Academy)
  • Michael Porter (Orrell St James & St Peter’s)
  • Nathan Benson (Blackbrook & St Cuthbert’s)
  • Nathaniel Twiss (Blackbrook & Kirkby Stephen Grammar)
  • Rob Bentham (Rochdale Mayfield & Bolton School)
  • Thomas Bridge (Orrell St James & St Peter’s)
  • Toby Rich (Orrell St James & All Hallows Catholic High School)
  • Vinny Arthurs (Leigh Miners Rangers & Saddleworth School)
  • Rohan Sheldon (Woolston & Newcastle Under Lyme School)

Academy signings

  • Charlie Yeomans (Latchford Albion & Lymm)
  • Dylan Kelly-Duffy (Blackbrook Royals & St Cuthberts High)
  • George O’Loughlin (Wigan St Judes & St John Fisher)
  • Jack Farrimond (Leigh Miners Rangers & St Mary’s High)
  • Josh Cartwright (Wigan St Patricks & Hawkley Hall High)
  • Kalum Rathbone (Leigh Miners & St Mary’s High)
  • Kian McDermott (Wigan St Patricks & Standish High)
  • Lukas Mason (Siddal/Orrell St James & Brighouse High)
  • Nathan Lowe (Leigh East/Wigan St Judes & Lowton High)
  • Noah Hodkinson (Hindley & West Leigh High)
  • Taylor Kerr (Wigan St Judes & St John Fisher)
  • Trent Kelly-Duffy (Blackbrook & St Cuthberts High)
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like